The latest volunteer needs

Below are volunteer needs identified in a May 4 Prosper Waco survey.

  • Family Health Center needs volunteers to direct traffic in the parking lot at our medical clinics for parking lot registration. Contact Valerie Rochelle at vrochelle@wacofhc.org or 254-313-4909.
  • Grassroots Community Development has seven half-painted houses that need groups of people to adopt. Contact Mike Stone at mike@grassrootswaco.org or 254-723-0976.
  • Meals on Wheels Waco needs volunteers to deliver meals. Contact Debbie King at debbie@mowwaco.org or 254-752-0316.
  • NAACP needs volunteers for event staffing and voter registration. Contact Lovie Langston at lovielangston@icloud.com or 254-313-2118.
  • Salvation Army needs volunteers for four tasks: 1) friends willing to share posts with fundraising links or able to create their own activities to help raise funds; data entry of volunteer forms using the person’s own laptop (may be able to do remotely); work at community kitchen (packing meals to go), thrift store, food pantry (packing grocery bags); 4) to create activities, such as making hygiene kits, collecting summer supplies (sunscreen, sunglasses, etc), and plant flowers at shelters, etc. Contact Diana Barrett at diana.barrett@uss.salvationarmy.org or 254-756-7271.
  • Community Health Care of Texas needs volunteers to answer the phone and make up admission packets. It also needs volunteers to sit with terminally ill patients (training provided). Contact Sonya Wilson at sonya.wilson@chot.org or 254-495-8996.
  • Advocacy Center for Crime Victims and Children needs ambassadors to sell pinwheels and hotline advocates. Contact Barbara Wright at bwright@advocacycntr.org or (254)752-9330, ext. 110.
  • World Hunger Relief Farm needs volunteers to tend the soil, plants, and animals. There is some weeding to be done, as well. “All the while getting a work out and maybe increase your love and appreciation for creation and how one can truly be impacted by regenerative farming practices.” Contact Gala Gerber at gala@worldhungerrelief.org or 941-302-8094.
  • RV Disaster Corps provides volunteers trained to respond to communities in disaster recovery mode. The need will be high as they experience the loss of active volunteers due to COVID 19. Devastation from spring storms and the subsequent hurricane season will require a strong volunteer component. They also need some volunteer support services. Contact Jamie Allnutt at jallnutt@rvdisastercorps.org or 254-715-7392..
  • Historic Waco Foundation needs volunteers on the weekends as guides for visitors to historic homes. Training is provided at 9:45 a.m.-4 p.m. Saturdays and 12:45-4 p.m. Sundays. Contact Jill Barrow at historicwacoexec@gmail.com or 254-753-5166.
  • Heart of Texas RSVP, McLennan Community College, supports varied nonprofits. Contact Susan Copeland at Scopeland@mclennan.edu or 254-299-8577.
  • Area Agency on Aging of the Heart of Texas needs volunteers trained to identify scams and fraud. Contact Janice Mancherian at Janice.Mancherian@hot.cog.tx.us or 254-292-1871.